Kew Gardens and a London themed wedding

by Kitty

Good morning all and happy new year!

After all the excitement of Christmas, we had a dear friends wedding to look forward to in London. Plus a trip to Kew Gardens to go on the festive lights walk with family. Both of these deserve a little mention on the blog as both were excellent!

I won’t post photos of the wedding until after they have had a chance to look at them all themselves but I got some nice ones so I expect I will write a little blog their decor was perfect and we had such a wonderful time!

This was however my first ever visit to Kew and what a treat it was not only the Gardens but the beautiful houses and area around them. Stepping off the train into Sunday morning sunshine and a lovely little square was made even better by lunch in a great Pub. The Tap on the Line looked so pretty on the outside with a wonderful glass roof we couldn’t help going inside!

photo(14)

Oh my goodness I loved all the vintage details inside, high ceilings and a stunning picture wall. The walls were painted with muted greens and the bar was dark blue the seats covered in a combination of soft green leather, tartan and velvet. It was so cosy to sit by the fire where I enjoyed a delicious portion of fish and chips for lunch and my first cup of coffee of the day.

photo 5(4) photo 5(5) They had little nods to travel dotted around vintage suitcases on racks on the wall pictures and posters, they also had vintage touches on the shelves behind the bar and best of all although I didn’t get a good photo the wall lights were made from taps….what a great idea. My Dad made us a lamp from a vintage wheel brace last Christmas I might set him to work on some new wall lights!

photo 1(14)There were even candles flickering by the fire making it feel very christmassy I am so pleased we had a chance to look around the area on our way to Kew I took a few photos on our way there. The houses were all gorgeous with Christmas wreaths on the doors and fairy lights twinkling on the trees!

photo 2(11) photo 4(8)Our trip to Kew gardens ended with a festive light walk after dark following the trail through the lanterns and trees was magical and with a tasty glass of mulled cider at the half way point I am thinking this should become a Christmas tradition. Despite all of us being tires from Christmas and the wedding we had a brilliant time not least because of the amazing light show in the palm house at the end of the walk!

photo 4(7) photo 5(6)   photo 3(11)I hope you enjoyed our little trip to London I will see you soon I bought a book whilst I was away that I want to show you all! x

