The Camel Trail

by Kitty

The Camel Trail is a 17 mile bike and walking trail running from Wenford Bridge on Bodmin Moor to Padstow. It follows the path of the old railway line and really is beautiful. Almost completely flat I’d say and with an even surface it makes for a perfect day out cycling. The section between Wadebridge and Padstow is a bit like cycling on a road except with no cars of course. There are loads of picnic benches and places to stop along the way so you can take a flask or lunch and sit and enjoy the view whilst you eat.

Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset

The scenery is ever changing I joined the trail at Bodmin today. It’s really well signposted and easy to get to, the beginning of the trail is just past the Bodmin Jail. You set off here through beautiful wooded areas and will pass the Bodmin and Wenford Steam Railway on your left. I also spotted a rather lovely looking tea rooms a little further down the trail. Before reaching Wadebridge you will also pass the Camel Valley Vineyard which I was thinking would be a perfect place to stop on your return journey for a lovely glass of Cornish wine!

Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset

The section of the trail between Bodmin and Wadebridge.

Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset

After Wadebridge, where if you fancy a shorter ride you can hire bikes and find lots of parking, you will ride all the way along the estuary and into Padstow.  It’s full to bursting with pretty shops and houses plus the cycle trail ends up almost exactly at Rick Steins Fish and Chips. Which of course you will totally deserve after all that exercise!

Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset

Overlooking the estuary…

Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset

When I reached Padstow I turned around this time and cycled back to Wadebridge so I could get a lift back to Spring Park. My lift had been surfing so was of course late its a good job Royal (that’s my bike) has all these handy racks and I had thought to bring a book! It was a real treat to sit in the sun with my book for half an hour and not be cold.

Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset

See you soon x

